jump to navigation

Muharram 2013 : Really Frustrating November 19, 2013

Posted by Yakuza in Uncategorized.
trackback

It is so depressing, I thought Muharram this year will be going smoothly for me. Unfortunately, there is a big obstacle. Malaysia, as known for us that banned any Shia Islam activity that be done publicly. The government, with the influence of the religious department and narrow-minded Malay has raided many private places where Malay Shias used for religious rituals/activities.

There is no minority rights in Malaysia, especially Shia Muslims. Even the usage of ‘Allah’ word is also forbidden to be used by the Christians in their Gospel and newspaper. What stupid is, this is only imposed in West Malaysia (Peninsular), not East Malaysia (Sabah and Sarawak). I believe it because of political agenda. This is why Islam in Malaysia become passive, inactive unlike neighbor country such as Indonesia. Freedom of religious practice is allowed in there.Image

It is like a sin if you are a Shia. The Iranians adviced me not to attend their ceremony (which I always come there) because the police has warned them that they will shut down the place if the Iranians allowing Malay to participate the ceremony. So cruel. Unlike last year, this time is very difficult for me. I am very upset. I only managed to participate them in 2nd night until 5th night. I also not allowed to participate in other place that organized by Iranian Embassy on 7th night.Image

I nearly thought that I have to commemorate Ashura tragedy alone. Because it is a very important day and I never miss it ever since I became Shia. And I lost hope when thinking about I will never have a chance to step my foot into any Shia ceremony. I could not participate the Malay Shia ceremony because; 1) it is hidden and they do secretly  2) another ceremonies are too far from my place and I have no transport to get there.

One day before 10th Muharram (Ashura), I planning to mourning alone in my room by watching videos of eulogies. Then my Iranian friend invite me to another Iranian ceremony located in the centre of Kuala Lumpur. The ceremony was organized by Iranian students. Slightly difficult to get there. I took a cab and the fare is RM10 (ten ringgit Malaysia). At first, one of the manager (Iranian) seemed not allowing me to participate the ceremony (because he said the ceremony is for Iranian).Image

Eventually he allowed me after promising him that just for that day, and I begged him saying that I have no other choice. Really, this year is very difficult. I blame the people who trying to stop the Shia rituals even in private place. I curse them and also the people who supporting them.

Comments»

1. Roland - June 27, 2014

Every weekend i used to pay a quick visit this site,
as i wish for enjoyment, since this this web site conations genuinely fastidious funny information too.


Leave a Reply

